Mountain Club of South Africa

The Mountain Club of South Africa (MCSA) is an organisation of people who love mountaineering, rock climbing, bouldering, hiking, international expeditions, search and rescue, training and conservation. A large part of what we do concerns procurement of access for mountaineering. The MCSA was founded in 1891 in Cape Town. Currently the MCSA national body comprises 14 geographically based sections and owns a multitude of beautiful mountain huts and wilderness properties across South Africa. The MCSA is a Public Benefit Organisation (PBO No. 930013449).

Paarl/Wellington Section

The MCSA Paarl/Wellington section was founded in 1895 – see the History page for more information. The Paarl/Wellington section is an NGO and has approximately 300 members (of all ages). The section owns a mountain hut, the Krom River Hut, in the Du Toit’s Kloof mountains; the hut is situated on Cape Nature land. A library with a collection of mountaineering related books, magazines and CD’s/DVD’s are also stored here and is available to members on loan. The constitution of the MCSA Paarl/Wellington section can be found here.

View the current MCSA Paarl/Wellington section’s comittee here.

Other Sections

The other fourteen sections of the MCSA are:

  • Amajuba
  • Cape Town
  • Eastern Province
  • Free State
  • Hottentots Holland
  • Johannesburg
  • KwaZulu-Natal
  • Magaliesberg
  • Namibia
  • Stellenbosch
  • South Cape
  • Tygerberg
  • Worcester

For more information email us at